Saturday, January 7, 2012

SLSA 2011 Season 2 Awards Ceremony

The SLSA met today to celebrate the closing of the 2011 Season 2 surf competition season. The following SLSA members were given awards:

Angel Award:
Kantbe Thirsday

Sportsmanship Award:
Sunrize Mornington

Best Venue:
Tsunami and Bundoran Reef (tied)

Kohana Schimmer Award:
VW Sands

Rookie of the Season:
JT Castanea

Most Improved:
Zelda Zimberman

Top 3 teams:
1. Tsunami
2. Surfcrazy
3. Montego

Top 10 surfers:
1. Wilfrid DeCuir
2. JT Castanea
3. Bobbi Laval
3. Cierra Thierac
5. Sunrize Mornington
6. Colleen Brennan
7. Zelda Zimberman
8. Maldrul Morris
9. Damiana Babcock
10.Buck Ghostraven

Hall of Fame inductees:
Wilfrid DeCuir (season champion)
JT Castanea (season runner up)
Sunrize Mornington*
CK Carver*
Giavanna Melody*

*a two-way tie appeared in the HoF vote, therefore three people were inducted into the HoF through a vote.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Flashback! Week of Jan 2, 2011

Whoo hoo! Our first Flashback! of the new year! While I am sure that 2012 will bring us many stories to cover and memories, I know that we had a great 2011. Lets go back to the week of Jan 2, 2011 and remember what was going on in our awesome corner of SL.  Jan 1, 2011 Flashback!