Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Team Profile: Surfcrazy

Submitted by Kantbe Thursday
Following up with the informal survey of individuals who have been competing in SLSA competitions as team members, SurfWatch has resurrected and is updating the Team Profiles that were originally done in 2009.  

Although it is rumored that Mick Lunasea can surf everything from the log of a freshly cut endangered Loulu tree to the back doors of his 1941 custom surfer Ford Woody Wagon, SurfWatch does not promote nor endorse any of the teams represented.


Team Name:  Surfcrazy

Year Founded:  2010


Owner/Captain:  Mick Lunasea

Co-Captains:  Zadi (Imzadi Amaterasu), Jayden (Jayden Domenici)

Mentors: Robin Mapp, Yendor Destiny, Aeryn Kidd

Current Team Standing:  6th

Where did the team name come from:

Surf-Crazy was a 50's surf film by Bruce Brown. Mick named his website combining the words . In sl Mick started Surfcrazy Surf Shop in 2007.

Why was this team started:

In 2007, Mick knew no one except Rob Jon riders until he met Sierra and Thor. Misfit's Shop was largest at Surf City. and carried SSI. Mick quizzed Thor and Sierra about Surf Contests. Surf City had no team, Thor passed away or Mick would have surely been a Misfit. 2008 Mick was a rookie, red, first heat at Monkey Paw riding a misfit board created by Sierra. It was an early sculpted shape. Mick had no team affiliation although the board sported a Surfcrazy Logo.

2009 Rob John (Robin Mapp) sponsored Team Surf City riding RJ surfboards. The SLSA permitted a one time longboard contest riding RJ Noserider, Connie, Brigit, Rockytheskaterboy and Mick were team riders. Rob created a line of SSI boards, The team was renamed Da Hui. Team riders were Sean, Aeryn, Monq Rob, Connie, Yendor and Mick. In 2010 Yendor was season champ, shortly thereafter Da hui became inactive.

Surfcrazy Surf bums / Team Surfcrazy was launched. Keeping with Rob John and RL tradition Surfcrazy sponsored Team Riders. Original  Team Riders were Connie, Yendor, Rockytheskaterboy and Mick. Ceedi, Crystal, Jay, Revlon and Xander joined, Abel and Jordan also joined the team briefly.

Current Team Riders:

Mick Lunasea- Main Contact-Pro Surfer - Team Captain
Imzadi Amaterasu - Pro Surfer - Team CO-Captain
Jayden Domenici -Pro Surfer-Team CO- Captain

Aeryn Kidd - Pro Surfer
Anabelle Marquis - Pro Surfer
Countess Decosta - Pro Surfer
Cristal Rowlands - Pro-Surfer
Curshaw Resident - Pro Surfer
Maha Adder - Pro Surfer
JT Castenea - Pro Surfer
Rockytheskaterboy Dreadlow - Pro Surfer
Shilow Carter - Pro Surfer
Xander Datura - Pro Surfer
Yari Ziplon - Pro Surfer
Yendor Destiny - Pro Surfer
Violetrain82 Resident - Pro Surfer
Destiny Delacroix - Pro Surfer

Pertinent history/team highlights:

Team Surfcrazy's best finish as a team was 2nd in 2011. The highlight is having met and surfed with so many great  riders over the years. Lots of laughs, good times. Mick is proud that new and old riders choose to represent Surfcrazy Surf Shop.

How does this team train and how often:

Team Surfcrazy tries to ride together as often as possible plus test experimental surfboards.

What is the basic philosophy behind this team in terms of SL surfing (reality vs. gaming):

Team Surfcrazy approaches Sl surfing using old school and gaming technique. Using all SL has to offer surfing waves far and beyond whats possible in RL is a BLAST!

What board does this team use and why?

Team riders are free to use any surfboard although Mick will supply boards or help pay for Mods. Many riders prefer Mods due to deck customization and experimental aspects.

What wave does this team prefer and why?

Team Surfcrazy prefers ALL waves that can be surfed on :)

What associations does this team compete in?

Team Surfcrazy Riders compete in SLSA, VSA, ASA and Independent  Contests.

Who are the top scoring riders on this team?

Top Riders this season are Zadi, Crystal and Violet. Curshaw is awesome, hardly ever even visits the comp site before contests. He just shows up and goes for it!

No comments: